Sometimes All you need is a little Adele

Music has a habit of giving me insight I never knew I needed. Healing has a way of humbling you and I had to take a few breaths and talk to myself, but not the talking to you would imagine. I had been doing the “you know better, do better” speech. “Don’t let them talk to you like that”, “say no ” but never the “go easy on yourself” speech.


I was washing my hair and felt I needed some music to help me along. Our soulful cousin Adele is about to drop her third album entitled 30 on November 19, 2021, and to say the tribe and I are bursting with excitement is an understatement.

She recently released a single from the album and when I first heard “Easy on Me”, it reminded me of Bloom by 30 — If you’re new in these parts, Bloom by 30, The Miki Chronicles was my first book — Or, the time when Bloom was fresh and I was oozing with hope and purpose. They are still fresh, but I must admit, life gets a little harder when the purpose is clearer and hope sometimes drifts in and out.


I have been thinking about friendships that drifted away and lovers who never cared enough to stay, but mostly about how they all, in retrospect, had agendas. I get angry at myself all the while, preaching that it and they served their purpose. So, why do I feel like I could’ve done better to myself? Why do I feel so used? Then, cousin Adele sweeps in with a melody or two, reminding me to go easy on myself.

Bloom by 30, The Miki Chronicles

Bloom by 30 was my coming out season. My epiphany of sorts, but the real awakening happened a year later. I appreciated my twenty-something years because they helped me become the person I was at thirty. But I’m not that girl anymore. I’ve read some pre and early post thirty writings and that girl could use a little talking to. She gave too much of herself and found excuses for people who treated her poorly. Still calling them friends very well, knowing they couldn’t give a rat’s ass. But knowing her, she probably would’ve wanted to ride things out. She did and got burned so many times for being good to people; But worse, standing up for herself.


I fear in all this growing. I’ve developed a cold streak. I was nice; that was my kryptonite. I’m still nice, I think. I’ve snapped too many times, only to realize in the middle of snapping that there’s no use spending all that energy. I never used to speak up or defend myself against other people’s disregard. Also, I have a little tone issue, so my delivery needs a little work.


I think about my current associations and partnerships and maybe that cold streak is protection. My ability to care didn’t leave me, it woke me up. I realize I can be both protective and caring and it wouldn’t be a threat to anyone with an ounce of respect for me.


So, in between the shampooed curls, deep conditioner, and Adele. I decided to go easy on myself, especially the girl I was. She was doing her best.


Remember to sign up for my newsletter!

First published on www.themikichronicles.com

Leave a comment